Home > Canberra, Cobber, Graphics, Localisation, Maralinga, Uluru > Cobber icon needed.

Cobber icon needed.

October 19, 2012

Calling graphic artists, Cobber is at a stage where I would like Cobber to have its own icon that defines it from other Linux distributions.

Ubuntu has the circle, Linux Mint has the Green LM square, Debian has the swirl. I would like Cobber to have something Australasian (maybe a Thumbs Up) for its defining icon. I would also like for this icon to be done by Australian/New Zealanders to keep with Cobber’s “Australasian” mission. So if there are any budding graphic artists out there who want to be part of the Cobber family please either respond to this thread or send me a message

  1. Dan
    January 22, 2013 at 6:01 am

    The boomerang must be the choice.

    • January 22, 2013 at 7:59 am

      For Australia I agree. I’m not sure a Boomerang is culturally appropriate for countries such as New Zealand though.

  2. July 11, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    Sorry I’m late. My boomerang wouldn’t come back. 😉 I think a slouch hat crosses the Tasman and the Torres Strait.

    Pogo.

    • July 14, 2014 at 1:36 pm

      A hat is used with Red Hat and Fedora so it may appear as though I was copying and trying to get on their bandwagon to promote Cobber (which I am not). I had considered a “thumbs up” but I am not a visual artist and wouldn’t know where to begin with creating such an icon.

  3. July 15, 2014 at 12:29 am

    I spoke with my son who is a web cartoonist. He is willing to draw s thumbs up logo for you. Do you have any ideas to guide him or will anything be s start?

    Pogo

    • July 15, 2014 at 9:04 am

      Thanks for your kind offer and please pass my thanks on to your son. At this point in time anything will be a start. I’m happy for him to take poetic licence, so to speak, and we can discuss things as we go.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
