Home > Cobber, Localisation, Minimal > Cobber Minimal

Cobber Minimal

January 2, 2012

I’m currently working on a version of Cobber that, while it will have a graphic interface, it’s primary purpose is to enable the end user to choose the programs they want and only what they want.

Cobber Minimal will come out with  (hopefully) deborphan (will probably need post install setting up but I will post again on how to do that), gksu, iceweasel, icewm, lightdm, localepurge (will also probably need post install setting up but I will post again on how to do that) , menu, synaptic, and xterm (plus their dependencies BUT not their recommends or suggests). This should enable you, the user, to choose exactly what you want in your Cobber installation. Please note that this will not be  an under 20MB download instead it will probably be greater than 350-400MB and it will ensure that the applications you choose to install will be the absolute latest in the repository you choose to download from.

So if you want the latest MATE, LXDE, XFCE, Gnome, KDE, Fluxbox, Enlightenment desktop environments or the latest multimedia codecs you can get them without having to update what is already on the disc system. This saves you time and download bandwidth.

I will post a link to the iso images as soon as they are available, so watch this space.

Categories: Cobber, Localisation, Minimal
  1. Keith McKenzie
    April 5, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    If this project is based on Debian, is it a straight install disk or a live installable.
    Will it run from a pendrive on any machine, or only as an installation.

    Perhaps, icedove alongside iceweasel; or iceape; therefore making it an internet friendly distro, out of the box.

    • April 8, 2012 at 4:08 pm

      Hi Keith

      My intent is to have it operate just like DebianLive operates. In other words you can run it and install it either off a cd or a usb just like you can with DebianLive. I think it is very important to note that not all computers will boot of a usb and these computers will probably also just need to use the regular text installer on a CD.

      The difference being with Cobber is it is setup for a specific locale which is pretty much Australiasia. So it will not install language packs or offer time zones during install that are not Australasian.

      I would consider Icedove and/or Iceape alongside Iceweasel but the intent with minimal would be to have as little software as possible so the end user decides what they want and not be forced to uninstall programs that I have placed on the iso that they do not want.

      Cheers.
      Michael.

  2. April 17, 2013 at 9:38 am

    How do I get Cobber? Thanks Paul

    • April 17, 2013 at 8:23 pm

      Hi Paul. At the moment Cobber is not yet publicly available. I am in the middle of quite a few assignments for university which will help me advance in my chosen profession, so even though Cobber is still being worked on my priority is my assignments. I am hoping to have iso images available sometime in June, maybe earlier, so people can test it. I will announce on this blog when it is, and where it is, available for download.

      Cheers.
      Michael.

      • April 18, 2013 at 1:39 pm

        Thanks Michael.

      • April 18, 2013 at 2:21 pm

        You are welcome Paul. By the way, I had a a look at your site, you are an inspiration.

  3. April 21, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    Just trying to do my bit 🙂 Looking forward to being able to try Cobber.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
