Home > Canberra, Cobber, Gnome, Kernel > Canberra updated

Canberra updated

December 24, 2011

I know that I haven’t spent as much time updating Cobber (on my machine) as I could have but I have updated it today and now have Gnome 3.2.1 instead of just Gnome-Shell 3.2 on the older Gnome 3.0. I also updated to linux-image and linux-headers 3.2.0-rc4 from experimental. Gnome 3.2.1 is great and is now my main DE. Linux-image and linux-headers 3.2.0-rc4 has a few issue with my hardware or settings so I am sticking to 3.1.0-1 for now.

With regards to the kernels my intent is to keep Canberra on the cutting edge or as close to it as possible but regular releases (Uluru) will probably stick with what used to be listed on kernel.org as long term versions. If you take a look at the link in the previous sentence it appears as though they now have the old long term kernels (the ones with huge numbers) listed as stable. The kernels I will put in the images will be as stable and work on as many variations of hardware as I can possibly test. That is why, for now, 3.2.0-rc4 wont make it into Cobber but I am ever hopeful that 3.2.0 (stable) will be good.

Categories: Canberra, Cobber, Gnome, Kernel
  1. Philip Gray
    February 16, 2012 at 5:19 am

    It really looks good. It is a fair comparison to Cinnamon. It is very much better than Unity and GNOME 3. I am looking forward to seeing what the finished product will look like

    Regards
    Philip

    • February 16, 2012 at 6:46 pm

      Hello Philip
      Thanks for the compliments. This is actually Gnome 3.2.1 straight from the Debian (Experimental) repository. Gnome 3 is very easy to make look good and has a lot of the functionality of the older Gnome 2.x. I am confident Gnome 3 will mature into a really nice desktop environment.

      As soon as I am happy with Cobber as a Live image I will release it for testing by anyone, doesn’t have to be in Australia or surrounding countries even though this is the intended audience, who is willing to help.

      Cheers.
      Michael.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
