Home > Backgrounds, Cobber, Debian, MATE, Translation, Uluru, XFCE > Doesn’t time fly when you’re having fun?

Doesn’t time fly when you’re having fun?

Well it has been 2 years since I started this little exercise and looking back I think, what have I done? Well, let’s see.
1. Translated MATE into Australian English.
2. Translated XFCE into Australian English.
3. Done half of a Masters degree in teaching. I have what I need from this degree so I have slowed down this degree and will do it part time.
4. Started a Bachelor of IT at Southern Cross University (everything is Windows :-( but it is still useful)
5. Buried my father who died 12 months ago after suffering with Pulminary Fibrosis for nearly 10 years. My mother, sister and I were his primary carers, we enabled him to stay at home through his illness and he was only away from home when he was in hopsital after acute set backs.
6. Continued seeing my doctor about Grave’s Disease which I was diagnosed with in 2009.
7. Worked on finalising Cobber Uluru-2013-MATE.

Oops I nearly forgot,
8. teaching kids.

Why has it taken so long to get Cobber released? Consider the above, also I have had to learn how to use Debian Live Build, which for quite a while was unstable and could change without notice so the configurations could be different one day to the next. Now Debian live Build is stable (in Wheezy) it has been much easier to get Cobber Uluru-2013-MATE nice and usable. While it is usable I have been making packages for the Cobber repository so I can install Australian backgrounds into the Live image. Last but not least I am still the only one working on Cobber.

Now that you all know I am still the only one working on Cobber I would like to encourage anyone from New Zealand and Papua New Guinea to join the MATE and XFCE translation pages (ask them to create a new group for your language) and we can get New Zealand English (which will just get the default Australian English until NZ English is translated) and Tok Pisin (PNG English Creole and an official language of PNG) into the Live/installable version of Cobber for these countries. I’d also really appreciate some photos of scenery from these two countries so I can individualise Cobber for you.

Anyway, I have exams in a few weeks and am going to concentrate on getting 3 major assignments done and revision for these exams. From the 28th September I am free from Uni for a couple of weeks and will concentrate on Cobber so people can test it for me before the final release.

  1. Ray
    March 23, 2014 at 9:20 pm

    So…. what a year and rollercoaster ride for you!

    Any chance of anything testable yet?

    • March 24, 2014 at 4:22 pm

      Hi Ray

      I recently built a new PC (i7 Haswell on an MSI motherboard) and am waiting for MATE 1.8 to actually get into MATE’s repository. Once that is done I will release a MATE version and then an XFCE version. Other versions will follow after that.

      • Ray
        March 24, 2014 at 4:56 pm

        So out of curiosity, is there any CobberLinux available?

      • March 24, 2014 at 5:31 pm

        Not publicly. I will announce it in an new topic when I release it publicly.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

